Security, AI, More AI, and Rebranding

The Weekly Variable

Every week I’ll dive into a curated list of links from the latest tech to just interesting reads, as well as updates on my latest entrepreneurial endeavors. Thanks for joining on this journey!

Topics for this week:

  • Physical Cyber Security

  • Lex Fridman and Elon Musk

  • OpenAI GPTs

  • Starting a Business

  • The Weekly Variable Logo

Physical Cyber Security

This one will seem a little scary, but awareness is the intent. It’s a little over 11 minutes but it’s dense with advice. The biggest take away is just to pause and ask questions: should this person be here, is this link safe, and is this the right device? Also, it’s incredibly interesting to see how he was able to walk into a bank and compromise multiple machines in only a few minutes. His full lecture is below.

Lex Fridman and Elon Musk

More of a commitment at 2 plus hours, but another entertaining conversation between Lex and Elon that’s worth skimming through. One part that stuck with me was Elon touching on suggested improvements for relevant posts on Twitter/X. Using AI and some math, there’s an opportunity to better analyze and recommend more closely related posts.

OpenAI GPTs

The big update from OpenAI was the introduction of GPTs, custom trainable AIs based on ChatGPT. Anyone can create a specialized GPT just by chatting with GPT on how to setup it. The accessibility is truly incredible. Additionally there will be a store where you can purchase these custom trained bots other people have made or sell your own. Check out the full key note speech below!

Starting a Business

Still working on diving in the entrepreneurship journey, I’ve undoubtedly been overcomplicating and overthinking things. This clip from Alex Hormozi helped to ground the process a bit and help refocus. You can only plan so much, sometimes you just have to get started.

I’m debating breaking out the Weekly Variable into a separately branded newsletter focusing on 5 weekly tech related recommendations each week. I initially started the newsletter with the intent of being updates from my entrepreneurial ventures, so I may return to that but in the meantime, it makes more sense to drive traffic to a tech update focused newsletter. Let me know what you think of the idea and the logo!

And that’s it for this week! Skipped a week, but we’re back on track! Those are the links that stuck with me throughout the week and a glimpse into what I personally worked on.

If you want to start a newsletter like this on beehiiv and support me in the process, here’s my referral link: https://www.beehiiv.com/?via=jay-peters. Otherwise, let me know what you think at @jaypetersdotdev or email [email protected] and thanks for reading!