Software for Science, Blogging and Profit

The Weekly Variable

The Weekly Variable

Each week I’ll have a curated list of links from the latest tech to just interesting reads or videos, as well as updates on my own entrepreneurial endeavors. Thanks for joining on this journey!

Topics for this week:

So Many Blog Options

Continuing the theme of writing is important, which I’ve been covering lately, I want to get blogging back into the rotation. I have my previous blog posts hosted on beehiiv but haven’t been impressed with it’s blog handling so I’ve been researching blog hosting alternatives.

But there are so many other blog platforms to choose from. I originally was going to build my own site, but figured it makes more sense to take advantage of someone else handling hosting, security, SEO, and a pre-existing user base. So I may just write once and upload to a bunch of blog sites for a bit. Right now I’ve run across: Medium, Substack, Wordpress, Ghost and Hashnode. If I can work it out, I’ll write once and distribute to all of them if possible, probably using something Zapier to make that happen. If I get a good system running, I’ll let you know how it works, but in the meantime, if you’re looking to set up a blog, there’s plenty of options!

Not Starting a Software Company

This video is a classic from Alex Hormozi on starting a software company. It’s a nice reminder to make sure you’re doing something for the right reason. You always hear about apps and websites raking in 10 times to 50 times what it cost to start them but in reality those situations are the outliers. Even if you know software, there’s no guarantees of success. Software is tough. In a weird way, I find this video inspiring, as well as entertaining.

How to Lose Love Handles

With the New Year comes the New Year’s resolution to finally lose the love handles. More advice from a jacked guy over at Athlean-X, with helpful tips in trying to target love handles as realistically as you can as well as just generally useful workout advice. Spoilers, “abs are made in the kitchen” and diet is 80% of getting rid of any fat, but this still provides an in-depth look at how love handles work and what you can do about them.

Tetragrammaton

This was a new podcast discovery for me this week, Rick Rubin’s Tetragrammaton. I was catching up on Rick’s appearance on Andrew Huberman’s podcast when Rick mentioned he had his own podcast which I’d never heard of before. Naturally I was very excited to find that Tetragrammaton’s latest episode featured Marc Andreessen. Always look forward to Marc talk about tech at warp speed. The Tetragrammaton episode with Marc is a 3 hour commitment, but it’s at least worth checking out one of the throwback style ads.

Extropic

Another long commitment if you’re up for it, being a Lex Fridman podcast so it’s guaranteed to be at least an hour, but this conversation, at points, was truly fascinating. Guillame Verdon is doing something remarkable with his company Extropic and I’m not sure I fully understand what it is, but I’m excited to learn more about it. Essentially he’s taking his quantum computing background combined with principles of AI and Machine Learning to build some sort of low level AI computer. I’ll be keeping an eye on Extropic in the future. Their full discussion is below.

And that’s it for this week! Another newsletter, with a newsletter in it, and of course, some AI.

Those are the links that stuck with me throughout the week and a glimpse into what I personally worked on.

If you want to start a newsletter like this on beehiiv and support me in the process, here’s my referral link: https://www.beehiiv.com/?via=jay-peters. Otherwise, let me know what you think at @jaypetersdotdev or email [email protected], I’d love to hear your feedback. Thanks for reading!