Niches, Money Matrixes, and Smart Writing

The Weekly Variable

The Weekly Variable

Each week I’ll have a curated list of links from the latest tech to just interesting reads or videos, as well as updates on my own entrepreneurial endeavors. Thanks for joining on this journey!

Topics for this week:

  • The Niche of One

  • The Money Making Matrix

  • Revamped

  • WhisperAI

  • Amazon Reviews to Best Seller

The Niche of One

Justin Welsh has a great breakdown of “choosing your niche” and I initially really liked the idea of focusing on a subniche for it’s simplicity. It makes it much easier to target clients and customers if you know exactly who they are. But in the back of my mind, the niche of one remained more attractive. Discipline is great, but if you work on things you’re naturally interested in, it will only increase the likelihood of progress and ideally success.

Naval Ravikant touches on this as well with “Escape competition through authenticity.” Peter Thiel says avoid competition or “Competition is for losers.” Dan Koe’s advice: “The Most Profitable Niche is You”. Nobody can compete with you in being you, so just be you. That’s my goal in the meantime anyway.

The Money Making Matrix

This isn’t the first time I’ve seen a similar breakdown like this, but Codie does a great job explaining with her examples. The Money vs Skill quadrants:

Of course all of this is relative, but here’s the list of business ideas and their skill to money ratio:

  • Top left: low cost, low Skill

    • Examples: Powerwashing, Landscaping, Cleaning

  • Top right: low cost, high Skill

    • Examples: Consulting, Producitized Service

  • Bottom left: high cost, low Skill

    • Examples: Laundromat, Self Storage

  • Bottom right: high cost, high Skill

    • Examples: SaaS (Software as a Service), Tech company

I’m planning to stick to the right side of the matrix, but this was a great reminder of potential business options, and the time commitment and cost involved with each. I’d love to try them all at some point, but I’ll settle for being overwhelmed with just 2 for now. Full video below:

The Content Pipeline

In today’s “attention economy”, it only benefits you to be on as many channels and platforms as possible, ideally with the least amount of effort as possible. I don’t feel like I’m in a position to hire teams to handle that kind of thing, which is what the pros do, but with AI, there are software options that can help.

Revamped.io may be a decent tool for doing so. I’ve talked about the process before, but the goal is to repurpose one post into several posts on several platforms, maximizing efficiency. Revamped may be the tool to help do exactly that. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’ve been debating starting a subscription once I get serious again about posting. AI still should not be the source of content, but it can be used to identify content worth posting from things you’ve written. I’ll let you know if I end up trying it out if you don’t check it out yourself!

Whisper AI

Last week I unveiled my streaming strategy for building in public. One aspect of streaming I didn’t cover was that streams produce videos, and videos are full of spoken words. If I pull out the transcription of the video, I have hours of content to work with, which may tie nicely back to Revamped.io that I mentioned above.

Unfortunately Twitch does not provide transcripts by default, and YouTube doesn’t like it when you upload videos that are longer than 6 hours, so I’ll have to rely on a cheaper service to transcribe those huge videos. I have a few ideas on how to make that a more efficient process but WhisperAI will most likely be part of the plan. ChatGPT handles speech to text in their paid app, so naturally OpenAI offers that service separately as WhisperAI.

I don’t have a working model yet, but in the next few weeks I’m hoping to have a system that can take a 6+ hour stream and turn it into a huge document, which can then be broken down into blog posts, then social media posts. I’ll be anxiously updating with progress in the near future. Stay tuned! Or if you have any hacks for this in the meantime, let me know!

Amazon Reviews to Best Seller

David Perell has been on a roll with great guests on his podcast. Tim Ferriss has a personal newsletter with more than 1 million subscribers, a successful podcast and 5 New York Times Best Selling books.

One thing that really stuck with me from their conversation, was that when Tim was writing The 4 Hour Chef, he researched all of the reviews of 4+ star books on Amazon, then figured out what was missing based on those reviews, and wrote his book to cover what was missing. Great advice to figure out how to find an opportunity to provide value.

Also, tying back to Niche of One from earlier, one of his big tips to writers is to be a category of one. The gaps can be easy to find if you take the time to look. Or, write the book are you trying to find that you haven’t been able to find.

The full podcast is a commitment at 1.5 hours, but super interesting:

And that’s it for this week! Another newsletter with business, writing, AI, business AI, and writing AI. Isn’t technology great?

Those are the links that stuck with me throughout the week and a glimpse into what I personally worked on.

If you want to start a newsletter like this on beehiiv and support me in the process, here’s my referral link: https://www.beehiiv.com/?via=jay-peters. Otherwise, let me know what you think at @jaypetersdotdev or email [email protected], I’d love to hear your feedback. Thanks for reading!